Linda Jenkins Brown Nia Award for Service


This Award is named in her honor and recognizes a  NABS member whose commitment, work ethic, and
dedication promotes and embodies the vision, mission, and spirit of NABS and its programs.

Linda Jenkins BrownLinda served as President as well as Executive Director for the National Association Of Black Storytellers, Inc. (NABS), the National Director of Storytelling for Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc., and a charter and life member of NABS. NABS Co-Founders Mary Carter Smith and Linda Goss often said Linda could also be considered a co-founder because it was Linda’s organizational skills that made the NABS dream a reality. Under her leadership, the first National Festival of Black Storytelling was held at Morgan State University in Baltimore, Maryland. That historical event affirmed Black Storytelling as a vital part of our American culture.

During her term as NABS President, an educational component was added to the National Black Storytelling Festival. She initiated the Circle of Elders Award, Youth Award, Affiliate Program Award, Affiliate Membership Award, published the first and only NABS Youth Newsletter.


2013    Bunjo Butler, MD                          2021    Jimmy & Tonja Caldwell, OK
            Sista' Martha Ruff , MD                             Eslyn G. Hinmon , MD

2014    Emily Bailey, OH                          2022     Denise Chapman Acosta NY
            Fellisco Keeling, MD                                 Dr. Linda Humes       NY

2015    Keesha Dixon, IN
            Elisha Minter, NC

Linda Gorham. NC
Dylan Pritchett, VA

2017     Janice Curtis Greene, MD
              Vanora Franklin Legaux, LA

 2018     Baba Jamal Koram,  VA
             Dr. Caroliese F. Reed, PA

2019     Gwendolyn Hilary , IL

2020     Barbara Eady